Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Many societies have individual people that they look up to. It could be an influential person who has helped them gain independence from colonists or appealed to many others with their words such as Ghandi or Martin Luther King Jr who both have been lauded and mourned in history after their assasinations. Both of these prominent figures were covered in the media and have had both favorable and unfavorable depictions competing with each other to influence their reputations. The prompt says that media scrutiny causes dimishment of that reputation and therefore people view them unfavorably. I mostly agree with this claim and reason.

First, massive disemination of rumors and slander can really tarnish a potential hero’s reputation. Nowadays, long after the invention and subsequent modifications for speed and efficiency of the printing press, gossip magazine articles can be written, printed, and marketed within the same or next day. Often, these magazines can cause Hollywood celebrities who have gained prominence through philanthropy or charity work to been seen as evil as soon as they get famous through rumors such as sex scandals. In order to become a hero in society, good deeds must be widely recognized and associated with that said celebrity. However, their fame can get undone as it comes because magazine writers spread false and unwarrented slander. Thus, men and women have a smaller chance of becoming a hero because of their own undoing by becoming famous in the first place.

In addition, newscasts could also participate in preventing the esteem that could be attributed to men and women by doing extensive research into possible damaging information about heros. Newscasts are resourceful and determined to find stories that can shed light on past scandals. For example, CNN has in the past conducted research into Steve Jobs’ (a famous technology CEO who created arguably the most innovative products and changing the world) personal journal and interviewed several of his past associates to make him appear as a meanspirited and condensending individual. This has caused many people in American society to think less of him as a hero and think that most of his work to be credited with greed rather than passion. Though this is somewhat of a fallacious attribution, it shows how media scrutiny combined with the errorous logical tendancies of the public can cause men and women lose their status as a hero no matter how good their deeds as a hero may seem.

On the other hand, the media can help lionize an ordinary good-doer and turn him or her into a hero. Media outlets such as YouTube can help people to raise awareness about the good deeds of others and turn them into heros. To illustrate, a streetsweeper in China who found a wallet on the sidewalk returned it to its rightful owner and security camera footage was uploaded to the YouTube site and gained over 100,000 views in a day. Comments on the video praised the man and many called him a “hero” for his good deed. Therefore, society is able to lionize others through media scrutiny by allowing ordinary individuals to make heroic endeavors public.

All in all, this is a complex issue where no one extreme can be taken. The many different types of media forms can do both to make or break the amount of heros in society.