Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is

heroes or heroines are always idolized and honored by people; since we were young as kids, we are enamored by the great super hero characters created by Marvel, such as super man, Spider man; till grown up, the fascination towards heroes is undiminished, people start adoring real-life heroes and heroines, a political figure who prosperous a nation; a war hero who fights for righteousness and sport stars who bring trophies back home. Contingent on the endless adulation and forever-sung panegyric of heroes and heroines, some sociologists pointed that, “the best way to understand the character of a society is to exam the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.”

I disagree with the statement; their characters cannot determine the character of the entire society as these people will have their own individual characteristics that cannot reflect the characters of all the people in the society; moreover, the reason of people regarding certain people as their heroes and heroines is that these heroes have done tremendous achievements that standing out that nobody else could parallel, therefore, the form of existence of heroes and heroines are the idealized form in society, the ultimately beacon that people look up to, certainly is the best standard to represent characters of general population of society.

one might argue that heroes are regarded as by people; and the merits recognized by people could represent the merits that people believes in society, therefore, heroes could be the representative of the whole society. To understand the character of the society is to understand the existing merits among general population; the idealized merits shown in one individual, though being appreciated by general population, is not representable as general merits of society.

The great movie “schindler's list” is based on real stories. oskar schindler was a German industrialist, affiliated with nazi Party during WWII. he saved over 1200 jews during the Holocaust though employing them into his factories. he was recognized as a hero by jews and even by local people in that contemporary society. His behaviors are highly-adored. could anyone say that the characters that oskar schindler has represent the nazi Germany during the World war II, even contemporary society admired what he did?

Not only merits of heroes could not determine the merits of the society; there are setbacks of heroes also are not representative. tiger woods, the great american Golfer, regarded as hero by americans by his extraordinary accomplishments in golf. However, later in his career, scandals were revealed, that he has multiple relationships with different women; though his reputation is impeded, more or less, by the scandal, he still regarded as a hero. The demeanor that conduct by woods has shown another side of character of his, but this negative character also cannot be reflected as common character of the society.

Imagine if people use characters of heroes to examine the characters of society, what the outcome would be. there are many individuals that regarded as hero, each of them will have their own characters; for example, tiger woods is diligent but not loyal, at the same time, Bill belicheck, the coach of new England Patriots who is also regarded as a hero, the greatest coach of all time, falling love with college girlfriend and being loyal to her ever since. is the loyalty of belicheck or the unloyalty of woods the character of the society. heroes all have their own distinguished characters, by simply apply their characters into the character of society is fallacious.

In view of the above, it can easily be concluded that the character of a society and that of the people idolized by the society are not related in any way whatsoever. The character of the heroes and heroines is not an indication of the character of the society that has chosen them.