Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

In legends and stories heroes have been known as someone strong, reliable, and perfect. The prompt claim that in today society, living man or woman can not be regarded as a hero anymore because everyone reputation will be dragged down by critical and widespread media. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this claim and argue that some people could still be regarded as hero even with the critical media evaluation because of three reason.

To begin, in the present, ‘hero’ could be viewed differently by different people. Some people will see someone as hero if he/she did something beneficial to others, while others might be regarded as hero because he/she makes some breakthrough in some field. For example, firefighters are considered by hero by many people as they are saving lives while putting themselves on danger. While some scientists such as Tasuku Honjo is known as hero by some as he makes breakthrough on cancer treatment.

Even if media always try to publicize any fault of public figure, media tend to not focused too much on too much on the figure that have done ‘good’ deed that regarded as hero. For instances, when media found out that one of the featured firefighter that have saved lives previously to have failing grades and messy life, as long as the firefighter does not implicated on serious crime such as murder or rape, media tend to avoid publicize the ‘hero’ publics life as even if people find out their “hero” have did some bad stuff, most people nowadays understand that no one in the world could be perfect and when someone have contributed greatly to humanity, he/she will always remembered as hero. Beside that, when media publicize the private scandal of people regarded as hero, there are potential backfire from the public and some cases media could be sued and force to apologize

Lastly, in some society where media is highly controlled, hero figures could easily made with censorship of media, For example, Deng Xiaoping who is regarded as hero in China as he is known as the ‘Architect of Modern China’ and the one that lead China industrial revolution, also been implicated in some incident such as the Tiananmen square incident that could even him labeled as mass murderer. However, due to highly regulated media, this matter is not well known by Chinese community and cause majority people in china still considered Deng as hero.

Of course, some argue that media could not be controlled and always try to make a great deal of someone short coming and cause the downfall of their reputation. However, when media is highly regulated or when the person that regarded as ‘hero’ good deed surpass their short coming, media tend to avoid publishing the ‘hero’ short coming as it could backfire to the media itself.