Namen and Roscoe which are known as high-end fashion and affordable fashion department stores respectively, plan to open a branch in the suburb of Salem where there is an increase of population and median income. Namen executives think that as income increase, people will spend more money on clothing, while Roscoe people argue that affordable clothing will be more profitable as it fits more suburbs area. However, to decide which recommendation is better we will need to answer these three questions.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, we need to know the reason there are a growing population and an increased median income. There are many reasons that could cause this, and knowing this will be helpful to evaluate the Namen and Roscoe recommendation. For example, there might be an increase in population and income because there is a new big textile company that opened in the suburbs. This will cause most of the people in the suburb to not buy clothing in either Namen or Roscoe as the company most likely will be their competitor. There might also the possibility of opening of a new company like Amazon that recently moved to suburb from Seattle and this might be beneficial toward the opening of Namen stores as the Amazon employees will have lots of money to spend. So, to know which companies will profit more in the area, they will need to have information why there is an increase in median income and population.

Secondly, even though there is increase in median income, there is the possibility that people still won't spend more money on clothing. For instance, the median income increase might be due to inflation which also causes everything from housing, appliance, and food to also increase in price which will cause people not spending more on clothing. If the above scenario is true, it will be a bad idea for Namen to open a new store in that neighborhood.

Lastly, the stores will need to know what kind of clothing did the suburbs community wear daily. This is because different communities might have different preferences of clothings and assuming that because it is in suburb it will be family-oriented might be completely wrong and will cause the stores to lose money. For instance, Davis city which is a suburb has half the population of students and students preference of clothing won't be family-oriented and will prefer new-fashioned and affordable clothing

In conclusion, to evaluate whether Namen or Roscoe recommendation is better we will need to answer these three questions before opening a branch in the suburb.