Every student should study the same national curriculum until college

The national curriculum has been used to make sure that students will be able to keep up with the college after they finish their high school. The prompt stated that the national curriculum in a country should be the same for every student from their grade school until they attend college or university. I mostly disagree with this statement because of three reasons.

To begin with, the students might suffer from stress because they are forced to take classes that they are not good with and failing the exams on classes that irrelevant for their future career. For example, a student that loves law and social sciences material might be not able to catch up with the sciences and mathematics classes and keeps failing the exams. The students might suffer from stress as he can't pass the exams and these scores will hinder them from entering the universities as they won't have a good GPA due to these classes.

Secondly, taking courses that are not relevant for their career might also waste of time and resources for most students that have decided what they want to do in the future as usually, most students will start to have some ideas about their future careers. For instance, Bill Gates, the founder of Microsoft, has been well known for his love for computer science and mathematics. However, his parents force him to go to law schools and due to this it resulted him to drop out of college. This example, might also happen in highschool students as they feel like they are wasting their time learning something that is useless for them.

However, same curriculum until second or third year of middle schools might not be a bad idea because at that time students are still trying to see what career that is available and which one they like the most. For instance, when first time taking calculus classes, some students might be fascinated with the logic behind calculus and after taking the courses they might find that calculus might be the best fit for their futher studies and they could learn more about sciences in their highschool year to find more major that linked to calculus.

In conclusion, I disagree with the prompt because by requiring every student to study the same curriculum until college, it will not only waste their time but also cause stress on them. However, a curriculum that covers everything might be useful until gradeschool or middle school as at that time children still trying to see what they want to do when they grow up.