Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Along with the human civilization, societies have been always admired heroes and heroines and have been tried to emulate their good deeds. yet the question is whether it is possible to designate a human being a hero in the contemporary era or not. Mostly concurring with the author's claim, I believe that it unlikely to name a person a hero these days.

First, our lives are much more observable these days than the past, so one finds it very hard to keep a clean record in his entire career or life. Nowadays people are posting everything on Facebook, sharing every picture on Instagram and expressing their opinions on twitter. With this huge amount of information in social media, it is impossible for us to hide our evil deeds and unscrupulous actions. As an instance, consider Donald trump's activity on twitter. he immediately twits his instant thoughts without considering and deliberating them. No wonder, a lot of scandals and controversies have occurred around his indiscreet activity on twitter. Like trump, other mad presidents have existed in the history, although they did not have a social media account by which they dishoroned themselves.

other than social media, the press are gaining more power these days. one may prudently avoid putting defamatory contents on his social media account, yet he is not immune from the insatiable desire of the press to glean critical informations and scandalous news. press seek everywhere and exploit every source to get valuable informations, and thanks to the globality of the internet, they can spread the news all around the world in a second. therefore, it is almost impossible to commit a mistake, and get away with it without losing public figure. Remember Kevin Spacey as a clear example. he was the main character in the very famous house of cards. he had millions of fans all around the world and everybody respected him in the cinema community. Suddenly, the news came out as he apparently had molested one of the members of Swedish royal family members. Soon, he lost his place at house of cards and more importantly, his fame and credit as a brilliant actor. Had he lived in an earlier era, he would have probalbly saved his face.

they are some criticisms about the idea of being impossible to find a hero these days. From one angle, people are now more enlightened and open-minded. they know that it is impossible to steer clear of mistakes and moral flounders. Hence, there might be a tendency to look people in gray, not angels nor evils. therefore, there is still room for heroes and heroines in our era, heroes which have some drawbacks, while doing for good most of the times.

In genral, I think that is is very hard to be considered as a hero these days due to the omnipresence of the media and being under scrutiny all the time. although, as people are more understanding these days, there may be some room for fallible heroes in this millennium.