Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A hero is a person whom people follow as their aspiration or role model. He/ She is elected or chosen by society and its people because of his/ her qualities and good works for the society. The prompt here claims that in today's time, it is not possible for a society to regard any living person as a hero and the reason attributed to the claim is that the reputation of every person who is famous or is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished. I mostly disagree with the claim for two reasons.

To begin, as the reason in the prompt states, anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will be losing his or her reputation over time. This reason seems too extreme to me. There are many living exampels who are everyday subjected to media and still are role models for a lot of people. For instance, the present prime minister of India, Mr. Narendra Modi, serves to be a hero of the entire nation by his good doings for the nation and its population. Although, he is daily subjected to media scrutiny, not just of India, of whole world, still he is able to be a hero of billions of people. The reason behind that is, he is not doing anythimg wrong for the society which will diminish his reputation. The above example illustrates that there can be living hero in the society in todays media time also.

Further, it is not necessary for a person to be a celebrity or a known face to become a hero. A person can become famous after he has done a heroic deed. Rather, sometimes with the help of media, one becomes a hero overnight. For Instance, a soldier who no one knew before, became a country's hero by defeating an enemy aircraft in the air combat. He received love and respect of the nation. For me, all the soldiers on the border fighting for the peace and security of the country are heroes of the society and Nation at large. With the above example, we can say that the media not always diminishes a hero’s reputation, it may help in making a less known person hero or the role model overnight.

The reason stated in the prompt does hold merit for some people or 'heroes' but is definitely not true in every case. The most important thing is that if a person has done something wrong in his life, then definitely their repot will be diminished by scrutinizing media. But when there is no black mark present in the character or works done in past by a person, the person will definitely be considered as a hero.