The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter from the editor of central plaza store, it is stated that the business in Central plaza is declining due to increase in the number of skateboarders in the plaza and it is recommended that prohibiting skateboarders will help the central plaza to regain its business. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the decline in shoppers at central plaza only due to the increase in skateboarders? It is possible that the shoppers have moved to some other plaza which is offering much better deals than central plaza for shopping. Or perhaps the shoppers have moved to online platforms for shopping, which offers huge discounts on products that too with free home delivery. Further, there is a possibility that the economic conditions of shoppers have taken a hit, and that is the reason they are abstaining themselves from spending too much since last two years. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the recommendation given in the main argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the amount of litter and vandalism directly proportional to increase in number of skateboarders? Are skateboarders the only reason for the litter and property damage? Perhaps there may be a local gang doing all the vandalism in the night just to irk the shop keepers or to hurt their business. Or there is another possibility that the litter and vandalism is done by store owners of nearby plaza to attract the shoppers of central plaza to their stores. Further, it is also possible that the building of Central plaza is too old and it is getting deteriorated by its own. If any of the above is true, then the main argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, third question is, how can the author be so sure of revival of business by prohibiting the skateboarders in the plaza? If the litter and vandalism is not stopped even after banning the skateboarders and if it is one of the reasons for shoppers for avoiding shopping in central plaza, then even by prohibiting the skateboarders, business will not be able to return to its previous high levels. Or maybe skateboarders are the only one who are shopping in the plaza and the old shoppers have stopped shopping in the central plaza due to its high cost. Therefore, banning them will only further decrease the business of central plaza. If any of the above is true, the recommendation in the argument cannot be adopted.

In conclusion the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to prohibit skateboarders in central plaza.