The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that if the local government prohibits skateboarding in Central Plaza, the business in this area will return to its high level. Although it is likely that skateboarding have cause some trouble for business owners, it is questionable that if the suggestions will proceede as predicted because the author doesn't provide enough support for his argument, as discussed below.

First of all, it is important to investigate if skateboarding is the primrary reason why the bussiness declined at Central Plaza because it undermines the assuption of the proposed argument, instead of base the argument on subjective opinion. It is possible that the skateboarding has become popular at Central Plaza because there is a skateboarding park opened nearby. What is more, if the shopping mall is very popular and has a lots of visitor, skateboard users may consider to find a place less popular, such like within the park or the back street. It is more than likly that the number of shopper have been decreasing in Central Plaza and skateboarding has become popular simply because streets and parks here are empty. If the questions turns out to be fause, it may undermines the assumption the author have that the declined bussiness is due to the skateboard users in the plaza.

Second, it is questionable that if it is possible for the local government and law enforcement to implement the prohibition of skateboarding in Central Plaza, if such reugulation is legal at all. It is possible that the laws supports anyone who wish to preform any activity at will and prohibit anyone to evict them without a good reason. Even if the regulation is implemented, it is impossible to ask police officers to stationed here 24-7 simply to make sure no one will skaeboard at Central Plaza. What is more, it might be impossible to ask the local bussiness owner who have already suffer from the lost of shoppers to pay for the extra expence to keep any skateboard user outside. If the regulation is turns out to be impossible, it would make very difficult for the local bussiness oweners to implement the suggestion the author proposed.

Last but not least. Even if all the skateboard users will no longer be able to skateboard at Central Plaza, there is no evidence that the business will return to normal as the author argued. It is possible that people become less willing to go shopping because the troubled economic environment. Or if the Central Plaza have receieved a bad reputation due to pool custormer experience. There are so many reason why customers decided no to visit a shopping mall, and it is important for the bussiness owner to figure out the true reason why the Central Plaza has become less popular so that they can fix the real problem and allow Cenral Plaza to return to its previously high levels.

In general, the author need to provides more evidence to show if the skateboarding has to do with the declination at all, if it is possible to implement the regulation to prohibit skaeboarding, and most importantly, what is the real reason behind the decrease number of shoppers in the Plaza. Only if the author provides enough evidence for these question can he provide support to his suggestion or propose a better solution for the situation of Central Plaza.