Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As far as I'm concern, the claim that many important discoveries or creation are accidental is questionable. Although many great men said that ideas about their greatest achievements came from accident, it is common that we ignore about the preconditions and the hardwork they put in to achieve these accomplishment. If we are able to consider all the facts, it is easy to conclude that most of discoveries or creations are not created by accident, as discussed below.

In the field of science, it is common that people think about the story about how Sir Issac Newtown discovered the laws of gravity by sitting under a apple tree when they think about scientific research. However, the research Sir Issac Newtown conducted is far complicated than simply observed the fall of apple because the primrary challenge people have at that time is about the air resistence. The knowledge and mathmatical tools Sir Issac Newtown has allows him to derivite the mathmatical model of the physics and countless number of scientist has tried to desgin the experinment to confirm his theory. Like many of the greatest scientific discovery today, the theory of physics is not discovered by accidents.

In the field of engineering, it is no doubt that most of the creations are not accidental. For example, we all know about the story about how Thomas Edison invent the light bulb. He tried thousands of material and finally found the one that suited to endure the extreme tempreture. However, the truth is that Edison is not the only one who proposed the material. The desicovery of the light bulb material may be accidental, but the invention of the light bulb is not. It is thousands hours of desgin, test, and manufacture that allows the light bulb would be avaliable to the world. Almost all the engineering desgin we know today, small or large has been carefully desgined and modified by thousands of engineers so that it can be reliable to use. The engineering achievement of modern society is no accident at all.

In the field of fine art, the creations of most paintings and sculpture is no accient as well. Although the inspiration may be accidental, but the final painting is the product influenced by not only the artist himself, but also the time when the pieces is created. During the period of The Renaissance, there are large of number of painting and sculptures that depict the religon figure. Although it may be greatly influenced by the personality of the artist's inspiration, the common traits of these pieces suggest they are influneced by the time and the ethos of the society.

In summary, there are almost no accident for all the greatest discoveries or creations happened in human history. Although it might be different in a way how people present the final result, but the achievement is mostly because of hardwork instead of luck.