While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author conclude that the frequency of the homework has little to do with the overall grades of the students, and therefore suggest that all teachers in the high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week. Although the teacher shouldn't overload students by assigning too much homework, the argument is heavily rely on some underlying assumptions without any support. If the assumptions is proven unwanted, the credibility of the argument will be compromised as discussed below.

First of all, the author mentioned a set of data from a recent servey of high school math and science teachers to support the assumption that the teacher from the district of Marlee assigns less homework each week. However the survy is relied on some problematic assumption such as the frequecy of homework from math and science teachers will beable to reflect the overall workload students receieved everyweek. It is possible that teachers from other subject such as literature would prefere to assgin more homeworkn than the science and math teacher does. What is more, the arthors also assume that the number of home work the teacher assigned each week will be a good representation for the workload the student receieved. Although the teacher from Marlee assgin homework less frequnetly, it is possible the homework they assgin is much harder and the students from Marlee have to spend more time on homework each week than the students from Sanlee. If either situation turn out to be true, it is questionable to assums that the teacher from Marlee disctrict assign less homework than the teacher from Sanlee district.

Second, the author compare the overall grades and the chance to be required to repeat a year of school between the students from two district to support the assumption that the students in Marlee district preform better than the students in Sanlee district. If the exam provided in the Sanlee district is much harder than the exam from the Marlee district, there is no reason to believe the student in Marlee is better simply because the overall grades is higher. In addition, it is possible that the teacher more prefer to ask the student in Sanlee district to repeat a year of school because their higher requirement for graduation. If either situation is proved to be true, it is impossible to draw the conclusion that the student in Marlee is better that the student in Sanlee.

Last but not least, even if we assum that the students in Marlee receve less homework yet have a better result, it is hardly reasonable to assume that the light homework is the only reason why the students in Marlees is better. It is possible that because the teacher is more experienced in the Marlee and they can help the students to achieve a better result without having to assign too much homework. Or it is because the student in Marlee are more hardworking and take more practice and schoolworks even though the teacher didn't assgin them.

In general, although the homework may not bable to affact students' overall grade as the author conclued, the suggestion is relied on so many unreliable assumption. Therefore, it is reasonable to suggest that the teacher should assgin homework base need and the preformance of the students.