While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of dail

In this argument, the author recommends assigning homework no more than twice a week. Although this suggestion might be beneficial for students’ performance, some unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will surely weaken the argument.

To start with, the writer’s recommendation relies heavily on the assumption that the recent survey is statistically reliable. However, the author fails to indicate what group of teachers, and how many teachers the study had sampled or whether the sample is representative of the general. If only several teachers took part in the survey or only a small part of interviewers responded, the survey would be unreasonable. Because many teachers may actually assign homework everyday but they didn’t. participate in the survey.

Additionally, the author believes that less homework could improve the grades because students in Marlee do better than those in Sanlee. The underlying assumption is that the amount of homework is the key factor to gain a high score. But students in Marlee may have better learning skills. Even if they have less homework, they still could gain higher grades. In this case, the author’s suggestion is totally unconvincing because he/she attributes different performance to the different amount of homework.

Even though assumptions mentioned above are proven to be true, the argument might also be doubtful, because the author assumes that it is necessary for educators to reduce the amount of homework. It is possible that in his/her school, students are so eager to learn that they can live a better life in the future. Or students need homework to help them review knowledge after school. In both cases, the recommendation would be unnecessary.

To sum up, aforementioned assumptions are all currently doubtful. The author needs to provide more information related to these assumptions to make the recommendation more persuasive.