While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this passage, the author recommends that all teachers in their hight schools should assign homework no more than twice a week and predicts such approach could actually improve overall educational performance. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's recommendation could be unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if prove unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's conclusion.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the assumption that homework payload in Marlee is much less than that of Sanlee. Based on this assumption the author therefore further extend his/her following reasoning about relevant student's performance. However, such assumption is potentially problematic because reports from teachers might not reflect the situation of assignment. Nor do we know whether total number of teachers in Marlee and Sanlee are at the commensurate level. Furthermore, we have no idea about the difficult level of assignment from these two different district. If it turns out that teachers mentioned above counterfeit their assignment status, or Marlee has relatively much small number of teachers than Marlee, or assignment from Marlee is much more difficult than Sanlee despite of relatively less amount, the author's guess about homework payload for Marlee and Sanlee is unconvincing.

Furthermore, by stating that Marlee's better student grade and less likelihood of repeating study in the next year, the author stays tenable about Marlee's students surpass those in Sanlee. However, we need to re-examine such assumption about Marlee's superior student performance based on the statement mentioned. It is likely that Marlee's university could lessen the grade standard in order to get better grade for student and enhance teacher's evaluation result. It is of equal probability that less leftover to the next year stems from the campus's goal to sail through the overall requirement for graduation rate. If any of these probabilities is true, we are inclined to believe that students in Marlee actually study better and give out comparably sterling grades than those in Sanlee.

Last but not least, while all of these aforementioned assumptions prove warranted, the author's recommendation is still unnecessary due to the doubtful assumption regarding the efficiency about application to all of high school in their region. Claiming that simply cloning the homework strategy of Marlee will be effective, the author seems too optimistic. It is unreasonable to assume that all of schools have the similar situation like Marlee, from both faculty resource and student status. Also, the author hastily comes to a conclusion that assignment with frequency of no more than twice a week will work, but does not discuss whether students who are eager to learn might ask for additionally d. Moreover, teachers in their high schools might vary for their enthusiasm and time for evaluation of homework outgrowth. If students' learning capacity are quite different from those of Marlee, or students in certain region have additional assignment requirement, or some teachers actually disgust for too much homework evaluation, we are reluctant to believe that such recommendation will be effective.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily depends on the validity of these assumptions mentioned above. If these assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's recommendation could become little more than his/her wishful thinking and therefore we should resort to other solutions to improve the overall students' learning performance.