Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although tests and exams have already become a very important part of the education. The debate about whether competitions high grades will benefit or limit the quality of studying is still not conclusive. As far as I'm concern, such competition will limit the quality of learning no matter which levels of education one is receiving. The examination will only be a simulation of the actual performance and no matter how carefully designed a test was, it is impossible to reflect the student's true achievement.

For students with younger age, it is consense that the competition is not so important as the education is primrary focuse on their own personality. Not only such competition introduce the pressure that is unnecessary, it is also impossible to set up a strict rules to evaluate the preformace of everyone's development. Steve may find football is his favorate and he can run all day just to beat everyone in the game. Jane is more interested in the science experiment and she can build all kind of device that impress everyone. If a exam is set up that only the fastest runner will get the best score, not only it is unfair to the others but also defys the true nature of every childern.

For students in the higher education or beyond, competition for higher score is also believed to be unnecessary as it cannot reflect the actual preformace of one person. The best example being that the driving test. It is impossible for DMV to grant your driving licence without passing the in-car test. What is more, the college program are become more focuse on students' hands-on experience simply because it is common that college graduates who don't have working experience cannot apply what they have learned into work. The paper test and qestions, although it is necessary, is impossible to replace the demostration and work experience.

For students in the secondary school, however, people tend to believe that the higher score is the best motivation for student to study harder. Although it is ture that the eduaction system needs the competition for higher score to select students who can take advantage of the limited eduactional resource, it is erronous to believe that such competition is necessary in nature. The knowlege and study method they are learning is fundamental to their study in college and the tests and exams can only evaulate within the scope of its requirement. If students are only focuse on the testing technique in stead of the knowledge they are supposed to learn, it is very common that they will have a hard time trying to catch up in the future.

In summary, although test is important to the long road of our study, it important to know that the knowledge itself and the real world experience cannot be fully represent by the test itself. If we only take the result for exam for granted, we won't beable to have a subjective understanding of the true quality of our learning.