The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argumenet that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night the author have is base on the unfounded assumptions. Although if a person decide to sleep less than 6 hours, he/she might find more time to do more work, it is impossible to ensure that the businss he/she is working on will prosper.

First of all, the author mentions a study indicates a association between the average number of hours they sleep per night and the success of their firms. The author assums that the study about 300 advertising executives will beable to provide a firm support to the argument. However, this study might hardly reflect the situation due to the insufficient number of people who are inteviewd. What is more, it is possible that the average sleeping time reported from the subject may be less than what they actually have since it is very hard to keep track one person's sleeping time without a professional monitoring device.

Second, the author assums that the reason why the company is successful it is because their executives sleep less than others. However it is possibe that the company is simply have a better management system. It is also likely that the companys employees are more efficient than other company's employee. The executives sleep less is because the company is so successful that they have to spend extra hours to complete their managieral task.

Third, even if we assume that the executives with less sleeping will help the company's success, the assumption that such condition will apply to every employees is unreasonable. It is common sense that the manager and individual contributer will have very different task and responsibilities. While the manager may require to spend long ours to attending the managerial bussiness, it is possible that efficiency is most important aspect for a individual contributer.

What is more, the assumption that it is possible to hire people entirely base on the average sleep time is unwanted. There is simply no means an human resource manager will beable to use to verify the accuracy of the average sleep time the candidate provide with the normal interview and hiring procedure. It is also illegal and impractical to ask an candidate to reduce the sleeping time so that he/she can work long hours.

In summary, assumptions the author provides to support the argument that a company should only hire people sleep less than six hours per night is all prove unwanted.