"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

At first glance, the argument seems cogent, however, after careful analysis, we can find the argument lacks some substantial proof and evidence. The author asserts that fewer sleeping hours of executives correspond to the success of their firms which powerful statistic data is absence. It's a misleading article to relate only sleeping hours to the achievement of a company.

First, the report states that executives who sleep less than 6 hours, their firms tend to be a success. This paragraph obliterate others' hard work in the company, not just managers. An organization cannot be success without cooperation between colleagues. It's not appropriate to attribute the accomplishment of a business only to executives. All employees' dedications should be counted. Furthermore, sleeping less doesn't mean working longer, the author seems to confound these two together. People can spend their personal time in different areas like exercising, hanging out or watching TVs but not sleeping. You cannot expect that less sleeping hours will lead to longer working hours.

Second, how the writer defines "success" is using "profit margin". A higher profit margin doesn't mean higher net profit. To determine a successful firm should also included business culture, employee happiness, etc. and need to take a long term examination. Profit margin may be one of the factors but not the only key point. Applying less sleeping hours lead to higher profit margin is misplanting the definition of success.

In the only presented evidence, it is not persuasive about how related sleeping less and profit margins are. There are risks to hiring less sleeping hours only for a corporation since less sleeping may cause serious health issues which make things unpredictable. Furthermore, no one can guarantee that the reason causes less sleeping hours is due to longer working hours, and what industries need is efficiency not just long working hours.