Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The article states that those employees who participated in the Easy Read Speed-Reading not only read much faster but also acquire higher productivity. It seems a good investment for companies since it only cost $500 per employee and can bring enormous benefit to business. The author suggests Acme provide the courses to all of their employees, however, there's not enough evidence that shows strong connections between speed-reading and productivity.

First, the author asserts that reading faster can improve the productivity but failed to provide convincing support to make this argument invulnerable. Fast reading has no direct connection with high productivity, instead, it might cause some avoidable errors. Lots of mistakes were caused by careless, which means detail-oriented reading may avoid some unnecessary mistakes. For instance, working in a government agency, in order to avoid inappropriate policies which could make big influences on the whole nation, accuracy is much more important.

Second, the statement claims that the person who got promoted from assistant manager to vice president in a year after graduation. The editor cannot establish a cause-and-effect relationship between the Easy Read Speed-Reading course and his/her promotion. There are too many personal characteristics and professional performance for upper manager to evaluate an employee. Sucha as cooperation with the team, multi-task ability, and future career growth will all be taken into consideration, not just based on how fast you can read. Moreover, efficiency could be important but not always the priority, sometimes you would like to do things better, not faster. For example, working in a R&D group, it is important to have new ideas while looking into papers. Critical thinking and problem solving skills here are more critical than faster reading.

Finally, the assertion stats that the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Although people who possess faster reading speed can browse more paper works in the same time period, it doesn't mean that they can remember all information and look into the details they have been read. It lacks statistical evidence to show how correlation factor between speed reading and information absorbance.

To sum up, while the conclusion and the whole argument might be plausible, the author should assess the assumptions to substantial the argument. It is always good to have training courses from employee viewpoints, but not always benefit the company. Different skill sets are needed in different positions, we should look more detail at a department, even group level, trying to figure out which team need speed-reading courses, instead registering all employee for unnecessary training.