"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

According to the recommendation to the personal director, the Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved other companies’ productivity. The director points out that, by fast reading, an employee can absorb more information in a given time and make more benefits. On the contrary, some questions should be asked concerning whether this course can truly help employees, whether it is suitable to our company and whether it is a unique example.

First and foremost, the first question should be asked is whether or how much the speed-reading course can actually improve the productivities of the employees. According to example given by the director, one person can finish reading a 500-pages paper in only two hours. It may be surprising and amazed at the effect of the reading courses at a first glance. But we have to ask that how much this employee remember about the pages and whether he can response to the questions raised in the paper. It is obvious that no one can remember a lot of details in such a little reading time. So, if one can simply finishing reading in a relatively short time but remember nothing, this kind if reading courses is completely useless and may be counterproductive.

In addition, whether the practice of speed-reading can fit the environment is the second question that should be asked. For example, the main jobs of those companies mentioned by the director is to deal with and handle enormous amount of information and words, like searching the information the company need from the Internet in a short time, then the ability of speed-reading is of utmost importance. The fewer time the employee need to tackle with huge amount of information, the more profits those kinds of company can make. However, if our company are not in such a hurry to deal with information and the amount of information we have to deal with is not that numerous, it will be unnecessary requiring employees to take speed-reading courses.

Furthermore, the last question that should be asked is whether the effects shown in the example is only suitable to themselves, that is to say, we cannot gain the same effects by attending the speed-reading courses. It is obvious that we are a unique person and are completely different from people surrounding us. According to the personal director, one can gain a huge improvement in the position by master the ability of speed-reading. By contrast, the reason why the employee in the example get this huge improvement is his own effort. May be because he is a diligent and ambitious person. Thus, the improvement may not suitable to every person who receive this course.

In a nutshell, despite the decent intention of the personal director to help the company to make more profits, some questions should be asked to truly and correctly evaluate the proposal.