The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the recommendation, the personnel director believes that forcing all of the employees to take the easy read Speed-reading course will be beneficial. By mentioning the graduate’s outstanding performance and reasonable price, the director purports that making such course mandatory will lead to improving employees’ productivity. Although it may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

To begin with, the director needs to provide more sound evidence on the graduates’ productivity. he blindly assumes that the graduates’ abil...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.