The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the recommendation to the president of Acme Publishing Company (henceforth, APC), the author argues that ACP should require its employees take the Easy Read Course (henceforth, ERC). The author has come to this conclusion based on the issues of productivity increase. However, the author supports this argument with unwarranted assumptions that, if not properly substantiated with reliable evidence, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the advice for the following four reasons.

First of all, how many companies stated that their employees’ productivity has been improved after taking ERC? The conclusion is made under the assumption that the number of companies stated like that is large enough. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, only a few of companies reported the positive feedback. Or, companies that experienced no difference or worsened results may not be mentioned in this recommendation. If either of the two cases is true, then the advice from the recommendation does not hold water.

Secondly, even if it is true that the number of companies is large enough to be referenced, the author still needs to answer about how fastly the graduate of the course had read a report before taking the course. For example, he may have been able to read a 500-page report nearly in two hours even before taking the course. In addition, were there any other factors that led another graduate of the course to be vice president under a year? There is no information about whether the fast reading skill actually helped her to be promoted so quickly. It is possible that she may have been able to be promoted under a year even without taking the course. If the above scenarios have merits, then the conclusion suggested in the recommendation loses its reliability.

Thirdly, is it possible to have a deep understanding by using the reading skill acquired through the course? We need to evaluate the reading skill based on various measures, not solely on the speed. Though employees can read faster than before, it would be useless if they cannot understand the contents well. Suppose, for example, that an employee is able to read faster than before after taking the ERC, but he or she has to read again and again to fully understand the context. Then, would it be better than before? I believe it is certainly not. If the above example is the case, then the advice of the recommendation cannot be properly evaluated.

Fourthly, is the price of ERC reasonable? Looking over the recommendation, there is no reliable evidence that the benefit of the course exceeds the cost. The company does not have to consider the course if the productivity gain through the course is not worth to pay for ERC. Also, the three-week seminar in Spruce City and a permanent subscription to the Easy Read newsletter may not be necessary for APC. If this is the case, then the fee does not well reveal the value of the course. Therfore, unless the information regarding the cost-benefit analysis and usefulness of the seminar and newsletter is given, it is not possible to evaluate the advice.

All in all, the recommendation, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the four unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answeres explaining the questions suggested above, it will be possible to fully evaluate the advice that the company should require its employees to take the course.