Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

To start off, the statement questioning about whether in terms of effectiveness, political authorities must compromise principle and yield to public opinion. In my opinion, remaining to principle without flexibility is less likely to reveal today’s rapidly changing society. Therefore, I believe that it is more effective to follow public opinion than stick to previously determined principles and objectives. Hence, I agree with the statement given and argue that as political leaders consider public opinion, they could be a better leader.

First of all, the principles of political leaders could not always be right. The most essential quality of a leader is the ability to compare objectives and find a better one for whole nation. When blatantly pursuing principles, political figures can send out the message that they do not receive any feedback from others. Apparently bad principles such as economically inefficient policies should not be consistently committed to and should be reconsidered to practice a better alternate. If this kind of principle goes unchecked, it often festers into something much worse down the road. Even some politicians could be regarded as autocracy if they rule out other possibilities that can be more effective to remain to particular principles. The message through the above cases is clear. Political leaders have to realize which one is more suitable for general benefit and pursue flexibly according the given situation.

Further, following the opinion made by public is more likely to be efficient than previously given principles. If people accumulate their thoughts, it will be possible that politicians could have more choice sets than before. According to the well-known economic theory, we can optimize our utility when we have more options. Therefore, what is needed by political leaders is to select the right one. Historically famous and venerated kings were the leaders that allowed officials to participate in the decision process and seriously considered their opinions. Take, for example, the king Sejong of Joseon Dynasty (Korean Dynastic Kingdom, 1392-1894) who is regarded as one of the best king in Korean history. He usually decided important policies by collecting other’s view and debating to choose better one. Due to this discussion process, he was able to make the state strong and favorable to people. This example illustrates that considering public opinion is a necessary condition to be an effective leader.

Of course, some may argue that considering all public opinions could cause social inefficiency. They may suggest that political leaders need to strongly follow principles and minimize to change those. Perhaps, they may posit the financial and timing cost of considering public opinions. When making decisions by discussing to select among options, it is inevitable that some costs occur. However, it is worth to note that most current nations chose democratic system and other non-democratic countries are losing power in the world society. The important thing is that democratic political system is based on opinions of public. From this perspective, we can infer that the benefit of following public opinion far exceeds the cost.

All in all, I strongly argue that to be an effective leader, politicians should actively consider public opinions rather than sticking to determined principles. The fact that public opinions could make better results for general public makes it clear that those who do not agree with my statement should suggest a stronger reason for their claim.