The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To start off, the statement claiming that praising positive things with ignoring negative ones is the best way to teach is a very interesting topic as the most effective way to teach is the most difficult to implement. In my opinion, it is better to praise about every positive actions and ignore about only some negative ones while not ignoring every bad behavior. Hence, I agree to some extent with the statement given but argue that it could have negative effects for students to always ignore about their wrong behaviors. Therefore, we need a balance between them.

First of all, praise works as an incentive for people. All the people need an incentive whenever they do their jobs. And one of the most effective way to give an incentive is to praise. This is because every people care about their own reputation towards neighbors. Imagine, for example, that a student did a great job at an exam. The student may have studied hard to get a good grade and have a positive praise from his parents. If his parents did not say anything after he got the good grade, the student would be highly disappointed since he lost an important incentive. After then, he will loss his mind to study hard again because he cannot expect he could get a praise from his parents even though he shows the nice academic performance. Would it help for the student? I believe it is certainly not. The message is clear through this example. Praise makes people better. We can motivate other people by praising them. Therefore, when they do positive actions we need to give them appropriate appraisals.

Secondly, pointing out every negative actions could make people be frustrated and loss their will. Every people make their mistakes. It is not possible for us to do always well. However, sometimes we need to ignore such wrong behaviors to help them in a long-term perspective. For example, Thomas Edison who invented the electronic bulb did many wrong behaviors in his youth. He frequently did not go to school and just cared for eggs in the hut. However, his mother rarely scolded about his such actions. If he was offended whenever he did something wrong, he may not have been able to make a great advance in our life. This example illustrates that making strict regulations about bad behaviors is not always better way to teach. Sometimes even teachers, supervisors, and parents cannot know what is actually wrong and right. If we apply our criteria to every actions, there is a possibility to teach other people in a wrong way. However, it is worth noting that I do not argue that we need to ignore every wrong actions. Of course, we have to point out about negative behaviors when it is inevitably needed. If we never mention about, other people cannot know what they did wrong. It is definitely not helpful for them.

Of course, some may argue that giving a praise every time could make people haughty. They may suggest that we need to be cautious because sometimes praise may direct people in a wrong way. However, I believe that it is more likely to give motivations through praises than make people have skeigh mind. In other words, the benefit of praising far exceeds the cost. Therefore, I agree to some extent with the statement. The fact that appropriate praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones could direct people better makes clear that those who do not agree with the statement should propose a stronger reason for their claim.