The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor, the author argues that consumers’ boycott to products made with Crust Copper Company’s copper can prevent pollution and environmental disaster in the land that CCC has purchased recently. The author has come to this conclusion based on the premises of CCC’s copper mining behavior, the subsequent disasters, and the availability of finding CCC’s products by consumers. However, the author supports his conclusion with unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author is assuming that the company will use the land it has purchased over the past year to conduct copper mining operations. However, this may not be the case. For example, CCC acquired the land because it wanted to present an image to the rest of the world that it was focused on conservation effects. It is possible that they will preserve the land in order to remedy its sullied reputation from previous, environmentally, and destructive operations. If this scenario is true, then the author’s contention that disaster can be avoided if consumers modify their behavior does not hold water. Thus, to examine the argument properly, the author needs to provide a more convincing evidence that the purpose of the company about the land is to mine copper.

Secondly, the letter to the editor claim that, if CCC mines the land, environmental pollution will inevitably result. However, this may not be necessarily true. Even if CCC will use the land to mine copper, there is a possibility that mining technology has become at least somewhat more environmentally-friendly in recent years, and it is possible that it has become significantly less damaging to the environment. For example, a new copper mining technology that results in little to no environmental pollution might have been invented. In addition, even if mining technology has not been significantly improved, there is a potential that the company’s ability to clean up and restore the environment has been drastically improved. If either of these cases are true, then the author’s claim that pollution will undoubtedly be resulted is not warranted and his suggestion that consumers’ rejection to buy products made with CCC’s copper is not overly persuasive.

Third, even if it is true that CCC intends to use the land for copper mining operation and that this will result in substantial environmental pollution, the author is still relying on an unwarranted assumption that consumers will be able to have the wherewithal to determine which products are made with CCC’s copper. It is possible that CCC wholesales its copper to dozens of other retail corporations and that its logos appear on none of the products. Or perhaps its logos are obfuscated by other parts of the products or buried deep within product information, leading consumers to being unable to ascertain where every component of the products originated. If this is true that consumers find it challenging to select products without the company’s influence, then the author’s assertion is not valid and his recommendation will do little to convince the company to forego its mining plans.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide reliable evidence explaining three questions suggested above, then it will be possible to properly evaluate the viability of the proposed argument to refuse the products made with CCC’s copper.