The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor, the author argues that the decline in the number of amphibians in Xanadu National Park (XNP, henceforth) is attributed to the introduction trout in 1975. The author has come to this conclusion based on the issues of the characteristic of the trout which eats amphibian eggs. However, this conclusion is relying on three unwarranted assumptions that, if not properly substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, are the wildlife censuses reliable enough? The information given by 1975 census may be too old to fully show the situation of that time. In this period, the survey method may have not been methodolodical enough. Perhaps, there is a possibility that the survey in 1975 underestimated the actual number even though there were four species of amphibian in XNP and the number was much smaller than known. Or, it is possible that the 2002 census result was manipulated or changed for some reasons such as political conflicts. If either of two scenarios is true, then the argument that the introduction of trout is the main reason for the decline of amphibians in XNP does not hold water. Therefore, the author needs to provide a stronger evidence about whether the censuses are well surveyed and preserved.

Secondly, is the decline in the number of amphibians worldwide comparable to that of XNP? Specifically, in XNP, approximately 40 percent (3 out of 7) of amphibian species disappeared from 1975 to 2002. However, by looking over the letter, there is no evidence about how many the number of amphibians declined worldwide and in XNP. Suppose that the number of decline in XNP is smaller than that of worldwide. In this case, the problem in XMP may not be pointed out since the situation is better compared to worldwide. On the other hand, if the number of amphibians declined more than in other places, then we need to focus on additional reasons that caused the rapid transition. Therefore, before the author proposes reliable evidence regarding the exact statistics of decline, we cannot fully evaluate the author’s argument.

Lastly, even if it is true that the census results are reliable and the declines in the numbers of amphibians are similar between worldwide and in XNP, the author still hastily assumes that the background situations were not different between worldwide and XNP. In particular, the author si assuming that trout was introduced in 1975 only in XNP and pollution of air and water is not that severe in XNP. However, this may not necessarily be true. For example, trout may have been introduced in many other places other than in XNP. Then, the introduction of trout cannot be an unique characteristic in XNP at this time. Or, pollution was also severe in XNP like other places. If either of these cases has merits, the conclusion loses its reliability. Thus, the author should suggest more convincing evidence about whether regional environments were similar.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence explaining three questions suggested above, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument that the introduction of trout was the main cause of the decline of amphibians from 1975 to 2002.