A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

To start off, the statement claiming that students should be guided to the same curriculum before entering college is a very interesting topic as it can be difficult to determine how best to teach students. Requiring a systemized and equal curriculum to all students inevitably have a flip side. In my opinion, the benefit that students can gain through the same curriculum far exceeds the cost of it. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement and argue that it is necessary for students to have the same education curriculum during schooling ages.

First of all, students need to take general courses until they go to college. The role of primary and secondary educations is to help students to prepare the basic knowledge and skill to live as a member of their society. Thus, the important thing for national education system is to make proper and necessary curriculum for students. For example, if students can take courses befitting their preferences, it is possible that students have biased knowledge even in basic level. Some students may do not know how to multiply scalars and other students may only know about English grammer without knowing about national history. However, all of these basic knowledges are necessary to live in today’s society. According to the previous research, the higher the level of common knowledge is in society, the higher the quality of living is. Thus, if the policy that the statement argues is implemented, the general level of knowledge of public will substantially increase and it will lead the nation to be a better country to live.

Further, young students do not have enough ability to choose what is more important to study. Schooling age is the most important period to prepare students’ future life. However, it is not possible for students to have sufficient experiences that help to decide what occupation will they do in the future and what kind of people they want to be. Selectig what to study per se can become a stress to students. Therefore, national education system needs to guide them what to study in this period. By giving systematic curriculum to students, they can develop their insights of selecting future life. Take, for example, a student who was from engineering majored parents. Due to the effect of family background, the student may be biased to choose that he or she also wants to be an engineer. However, through the systemized educationa curriculum, the student can have an opportunity to test what kind of study is more interesting for her. The message through this example is clear. Requiring the same national curriculum can help students to construct their future by providing unbiased experiences. Therefore, students of a nation that implements the same curriculum will be able to be less stressed out when choosing their study and more satisfied after choosing their job.

Of course, some may argue that it is better for students to have free to choose curriculum. They may suggest that today’s society is becoming specialized, thus it is not important to have general knowledge. However, I believe that no matter how specialized knowledge is crucial, every knowledge is fundamentally related each other and can have synergic effect to the other. Therefore, studying through the same curriculum during young age will be definitely helpful to focus on specialized field in the future.

All in all, I strongly agree with the statement given. The fact that generalized knowledge during the schooling age is necessary to live in our society and it will help to make students’ future life better make it clear that those who disagree with the statement should suggest a stronger reason for their claim.