The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor, the author argues that the city should prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. The author comes to this conclusion based on the issues of the decrease in business of Central Plaza, which is attributed to the increased number of skateboard users in the plaza. However, there are three questions that, if not properly answered, dramatically weaken the argument and the predicted result.

First of all, the author is assuming that the decrease in shoppers and the increase of skateboarders in the plaza were idiosyncratic trends in recent two years. However, there is a possibility that the number of shoppers had been decreasing even several years before or the increase of skateboarders had increased more rapidly several years ago. For example, from 5 years before to 3 years before, the number of shoppers might decrease from 1,000 to 500. Then, although the number of shoppers decreased from 500 to 400 during the past two years, this could not be regarded as severe decline. In addition, it is possible that the number of skateboard users increased more largely in ten years ago than the past two years. In this case, the increase of skateboarders over the past two years could not become a reason for the decrease of shoppers. Therefore, when considering either of two scenarios, we need a clear answer about the past trend to properly evaluate the recommendation.

Secondly, even if it is true that the decrease of shoppers and the increase of skateboarders were the recent trends, the author still hastily assumes that the increase in skateboarding users caused the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. However, this may not necessarily be true. Perhaps, the skateboard users are mature enough to consider about their neighbors and environments. It is possible that they have their own regulation such as cleaning up rule. Or there is a possibility that the reason for the increased litter and vandalism was other shoppers. If either case is true, the conclusion that the city should ban skateboarding in the plaza does not hold water. Thus, the author needs to suggest proper answer about who is in charge of the increase of litter and vandalism.

Thirdly, without considering the above questions, the author is relying on an unwarranted assumption that the benefit of prohibiting skateboarding exceeds the cost of it. However, this may not be the case. For example, we need to consider the possibility that the skateboard users could be potential customers of the plaza. What if the skateboarders contribute to the significant amount of revenue of the plaza? Or it is possible that some customers come to the plaza to watch the show from the boarders. Both direct and indirect effects of skateboarders could have the positive impact on the business of the plaza. In this case, restricting skateboarding in the plaza may cause the adverse effect on the number of shoppers. Hence, the author should propose reliable evidence that the recommendation will help the business of the plaza.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the reliance upon unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to the questions suggested above, then it will be possible to properly evaluate the recommendation.