The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

The argument claims that the prevalence of skateboarding negatively affects the quantity of customers in Central Plaza. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and had several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the quantity of skateboard players in the plaza is the cause of the decline in the business of store owners. This statement is a stretch since the author does not provide any statistical evidence indicating the dropped percentage of their revenues lately. Suppose, for example, the main problem lies in the quality and the price of their products or incorrect behaviors of salespersons. If it is, decreasing the number of skateboarders would not be an effective solution. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that their income before and after the appearance of skateboard users.

Second, the argument claims that the Central Plaza witnesses a significant growth in the quantity of rubbish and destruction. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the number of skateboarders and the amount of trash and vandalism. To illustrate, the store owners might not take any serious action to clean their litter such as placing garbage bin in visible areas so that customers could easily throw their trash; or the cause of the destruction could come from some unfair competitive practices. If the argument had provided evidence that skateboard users were caught in the scene while throwing trash or destroying stuff then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author ensures that if skateboarding is proscribed, the business in the plaza would return to previous levels. Does the author consider the scenario that those skateboard users are the reason attracting customers to the plaza? What if the skateboarders has been contributing a handsome income to the revenue of the Central Plaza? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the current conclusion that prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza would improve the business level.