Nowadays, more and more people want to travel to remote areas such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this type of travel outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently a great number of people are going to travel to isolated places such as the south pole. While this trend has several advantages to some extent, I would argue that is has more disadvantages.

On the one hand, visiting remote areas has some benefits. Firstly, since famous cities and countries in the world such as Venice or Paris are too common and overcrowded, travelling to isolated places is far more interesting. For example, a trip to the South Pole could give tourists a chance to explore this place and see rare animals like penguins. This could allow them to have valuable experiences and unforgettable memories. Secondly, due to a significant number of undiscovered mysteries that are useful, scientists might acquire more knowledge about environmental habitat. For instance, when coming to the North Pole, researchers could study about life of polar bears which live far away from humans. This might help to learn how to protect animals in these areas.

On the other hand, I believe there are some drawbacks of this development. First, because these locations are usually isolated and far from human living areas, it could be risky for travellers who do not prepare sufficiently. For example, people have to face the risk of being attacked by wild animals such as anaconda or piranha when travelling to Amazon rainforest. Additionally, since visiting isolated places often requires a huge amount of investment in researching and ensuring safety of travellers, the cost of travelling tend to be high. For instance, a trip to Antarctica might cost a huge amount of money per person. Therefore, only scientists and rich people could afford this activity so this development is likely to benefit only a small group of individuals.

In conclusion, while visiting remote areas can have several advantages, I believe that its disadvantages are greater.