Because people increasingly eat at restaurant, all restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the meals they serve. This knowledge makes it easier for diners to make healthy choices and reduces the risk of diet related health

Throughout the world, food nutrition has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although there are numerous people eating at restaurants, the issue as to whether all restaurants should provide nutritional information of the food they serve or not remains controversial. In my opinion, the advantages of showing those information to diners far outweigh the disadvantages.

Firstly, it is important to recognise that people are exhausted after working 9 to 5 and they would rather eat at restaurants than cook dinner at home. Many may argue that busy citizens are too hungry so they might ignore the ingredients of the food. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that people care about diet-related health problems such as obesity or diabetes, therefore diners would have the need to know more about nutritional information and welcome the law that requiring restaurants display those information on the menu. For example, FDA enacted a new law and those restaurants which have more than 20 locations must provide calorie-count on their food items in 2018. This example indicates that legislators want to reduce food-related health issues.

Secondly, it is equally important to recognise that restaurants have been spending a large amount of time to prepare the ingredients and serve food. Economists may argue that it would take more time and effort for restaurants to show detail nutritional information for every meal they serve. As a result, they have to devote an amount of budget on extra effort. Nevertheless, they are ignorant of the fact that disclosure information of food nutrition not only benefits customers but also positively affect the restaurants. For instance, McDonald’s had seen increased stock and restaurant sales after providing calorie-count on the menus in 2016. Therefore, this could make restaurants different from their counterparts and attract more customers.

In conclusion, taking all of the above mentioned facts, it is reasonable to display food nutrition to diners therefore they could have nutritious diets and decrease health problems.