The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based o

The argument claims that if Buckingham College builds new attractive dormitories, they would fulfill the demand for accommodation of current students and attract more potential ones applying to the school. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the enrollment would be twice as much as the current rate and there could be a lack of dorms over the next five decades. This statement is a stretch since the author does not provide any statistical evidence to prove the conjecture. Suppose, for example, the number of students has been applying to this college lately. This argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the rate of admission during the last three years or the enrollment being on the upward trend.

Second, the argument claims that the shortage of new dorms causes the low number of students register to the college. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between building new dormitories and the admission rate. To illustrate, organizing several seminars about career orientation or job market preparation during the study period might be a better solution to engage future students. If the argument had provided evidence that the action might positively affect the current enrollment, then the argument would have been a lot more cogent.

Finally, the argument is still ambiguous in many aspects: would those new dormitories negatively affect financial budget of the college in long-term? Could the author provide any statistical proof about the average rent cost for an apartment in local regions? How could the author ensure rent a room in new dormitories might be more cost effective than hiring outside houses? Without persuasive answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore implausible. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the conclusion that implementing this change would bring more benefits for Buckingham College.