The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many

The argument claims that homeowners should choose Adams Realty because the firm is better than its counterpart, Fitch Realty. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily states that Adams Realty has the number of employees larger than that of Fitch Realty and some of Fitch’s agents work only part-time. This statement is a stretch since the evidence does not show a clear advantage. To illustrate, Adams Realty has more excellent real estate agents who have earned a handsome income for the company than its opponent or the number of part-time agents of Fitch Realty account for how many percent of total agents or the number of Fitch’s agents is low due to recent cutoff. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the revenue of top ten sellers between two companies or the reason why Fitch has a smaller number of employees.

Second, the argument claims that Adams Realty has faster selling rate than its rival, Fitch Realty. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between selling rate of the company and reputation of a business. Moreover, the author compares the number between two different times, ten years ago and last year. If the argument had provided evidence indicating high selling rate and how it relates to the quality of the company such as then the argument would have been a lot more convincing. Suppose, for example, the company has a source of reliable consumers could pay a high price so that it both earns high income and has a faster rate of selling.

Finally, the author indicates that Adams’ earnings last year was two times as high as that of Fitch and also has higher average sales price. Does the number come from a trusted real estate magazine? Has Adams’ income been kept the same during the last ten years? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts that support the current conclusion that between two real estate firms Adams Realty and Fitch Realty, the former is superior than the latter.