The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the homeowner has concluded that out of the two real estate firms— Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is a clear superior, however he makes many unwarranted assumptions in the process, which needs to be answered for the conclusion to hold true.

Firstly, the fact that Adams has 40 real estate agents and Fitch has 25 is questionable, as it is not supported by any evidence, it might be possible that Fitch has more number of agents. Another part of the above assumption is that many agents in Fitch work part time,which is another questionable fact as well as here productivity is directly compared to the time which is not true as many people work less and are much more productive than people working for long hours for example Jeff Bezoz works for only 6 hours daily and has been able to lead Amazon for more than 2 decades.

Secondly the homeowner also states that Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000, the stated fact is itself questionable whether the revenue generated by the two companies are gathered from a genuine source. Also the assumption that revenue of the company is directly proportional to sell homes faster and at a higher price is not very logical, it might be possible that the company was selling more homes at a higher rate and charging less brokerage or even investing their money to bring in more customers aiming at a long term profit.

Thirdly the homeowner also states that ten years ago he listed his home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when he sold another home, he listed it with Adams, and it took only one month, he compares the time taken to sell the house between the two companies at different times. It might be possible that Fitch has become even more successful as a company and has evolved even bigger than Adams.

The homeowner has made many unwarranted assumptions which needs to be verified before drawing a conclusion, many facts were stated which are definitely not supported by any sources as well as many comparisons have been made which does not seem logical thus the conclusion that Adams is better than Fitch does not hold true.