The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the modern world with the high level of improving robots, computers, and other smart machines, the statement that human will always surpass the first ones is becoming a hot spot for people. The prompt states that machines are made as tools of mankind, hence machines will always be overshadowed by human minds. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea and argue that human mind will not stay superior to machines for two ways.

To begin, we need to consider about the rapid growth of technology these days. Each year machines are becoming smarter by improving their abilities and features. In the future, it will be possible that machines become smarter than people. This is because machine learning makes use of reinforcement learning that is a very primitive implementation of how humans understand and approach new concepts or challenges. As a recent event, Artificial Intelligence educated by machine learning has beaten humans at “highly intellectual” games for the human mind such as Go and chess. It was a huge event that clearly showed how AIs educate themselves and surpass the human’s intelligence. This example illustrates the possibility of reaching the point that machines will be smarter than human beings is high.

Further, even if we assume that machines never become smarter than humans because people will make a restriction in the level of development for machines, machines could still change our lives in a great manner. For example, in the past, we did not expect that human translators could be replaced by automatic-translation machines. In fact, the level of translation by machines is still far behind than that of professional humans. Nevertheless, translators are being regarded as one of the most replaceable occupations these days. Perhaps this may be due to the economic validity. Even though humans are better translator, automatic translation machines are cheaper and the quality of translation is not that bad. In this situation, people who were doing translation as a job are facing quite different job market condition these days. In other words, our living will be highly affected by machines and even there is a possibility that we have to change ourselves because of machines.

Of course, some may argue that people will be able to perfectly control machines, thus there is little possibility that we have to adjust our lives according to machines. Therefore, they may suggest that human minds will be never inferior to machines. However, if we consider our history that experienced similar situation two hundred years ago through the so-called Industrial Revolution and the Luddite movement, we cannot be sure we are always superior to machines.