We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To start off, the statement claiming that people learn the most important lessons by struggling with their limitations rather than in successes is a very interesting topic as our life consists of lessons from experiences over the course of lifetime. In my opinion, lessons from struggling with limitations have a longer-run effect than from successes and therefore the benefit from the former far exceeds that from the latter. Hence, I strongly agree with the statement given and argue that the larger the limitation people struggle, the more they can learn from that for two reasons.

First of all, people experience failures by confronting their limitations and they can learn how not to fail again. Even we can say that failure is a mother of success. Take, for example, Wright brothers who invented an air plane first. Before them, people could not have thought that it is possible to fly the sky. If they did not invent the air plane, we are still just looking at the sky admiring birds. Then, what made Wright brothers achieve the greatness? It was countless failures they experienced during the invention process. They must have struggled with their technological limitations and may have been disappointed everytime. However, through the experiences of failures, they were able to try not to fail again and this process may have repeated during their lifetime. Due to the life-long trial, they became pioneers who advanced the life of human kind. This example illustrates that by overcoming failures and limitations, people can learn invaluable lessons.

Secondly, even if we could not overcome our limitations, we can learn how to endure hardships and not to be frustrated by them. As we live our life, it is not possible to always succeed. Meeting limiations and failures is inevitable to grow up. Although we cannot perfectly overcome our limitations, the process per se in which we try to struggle with them could be a valuable lesson for us. For example, a student who was not good at mathematics may have choices to decide study math more or just give up. If he chooses not to study hard math and satisfies with his other better grade subjects, he might enjoy his success in those subjects expect mathematics. However, if he tries to struggle with mathematics, then he not only may get better grades at math, but also will be able to learn how not to forgive when he confronts hardships in his life. And I believe that this is the most valuable lesson in our life from the long-term perspective. Thus, the above example shows that endeavor itself to struggle with limitations has more merits.

Of course, some may argue that lessons from successes are more valuable. They may suggest that people can grow up by experiencing successes when they challenge. However, I believe that even if success may seem to help people grow but it will make them feel less endeavor and less enthusiastic. After succeeding, it is possible that people think they do not have to try anymore. When we consider how long our life, such attitude could not be helpful for our lives. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement given. The fact that we need lessons over the course of lifetime makes it clear that people who do not agree with the statement should suggest a stronger reason for their claim.