We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

From the first educated generations to a famous song writer that came up with the line “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”, it was believed that struggling has always been for a reason. Indeed, a learning process has never been an easy path and I am sure that many people would agree with the following statement : either a person’s goal is learning a new language, preparing for a test or understanding reasons behind a recent break-up, a learned lesson has (almost) never been associated with the words “enjoy”, “success” or an expression “enjoy success”. Therefore, I am prone to believe that there exist several arguments that refrain me from supporting the written statement.

First of all, a lesson cannot be learned without understanding one’s own limitations. For instance, when a child begins to learn how to read, he or she needs to go through several steps toward reaching the ultimate goal, namely learning the letters and pronunciations and differentiating between letter “a” in the word “cat” and “cable”. Thus, the former limitation, i.e. inability to overcome the above-stated tasks as opposed to an ultimate feeling of accomplishment was the key motivator toward reaching the goal, since the goal would not be reached without consciously realizing one’s own limitations.

In addition to this statement, the entire definition of the word “learning” is challenged when it is connected to the “enjoyment of success”. “To learn is to suffer” has been an old saying of ancient philosophers and such a contradiction would imply that when we feel good, we learn a valuable lesson? A human life would be less sophisticated if the strict disagreement with ancient philosophies would be the right thing to do. this disagreement would mean that children can stop making parents’ mistakes by simply listening to their advice. it would also imply that once succeeding on a test, a student will “learn a valuable lesson” and pass all other similar tests. As tempting as it could be, humanity’s constant seeking for an answer will never stop until people stumble and fall, rising again.