Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many people are involved in the dispute of this hot topic, either supporting or opposing government’s decision to give an equal financial support to arts and military. Although, it seems to be a fair statement at first, I am prone to disagree with it. Form this statement one could conclude that both arts and military are equally important, which is arguable from my point of view.

First of all, it is a known fact that on an average more people are involved in arts, than in the military servings. This implies that by distributing the same amount of money to support each artist and soldier, the later group of people will either receive more money or this surplus will go to a purchase of weapons and fulfillment of other needs. Such an allocation will not be fair and could lead to a lack of funding for a creative part of population.

Secondly, the advantages that are gained by investing more money in the arts considerably outweigh those from an equal distribution of funds. For instance, the arts fill people’s minds with positive thinking, making them more open-minded and creative. The number of people who suffer from dementia, Alzheimer’s, depression and other disorders constantly increases and more than a half of mentally ill population copes with their diseases by doing arts. Is it not enough of a reason to pay more attention to arts and make more investments?

If these two arguments are not strong enough to support my point of view, I believe that the last one is: the connecting rope between arts and military is tighter and more apparent that one may think. The future soldiers who once took the arts classes and were former artist by profession will have a different way of thinking, which will make them unique on a battlefield. Thus, by having a stronger financial support for arts, the military services of a government can benefit even more than from an equal allocation of the funds.

In conclusion, I would like to enforce the importance of giving more financial support to the arts which is believed to not only create more creative and talented people but will also increase the number of creative soldiers, whose minds will be inclined toward positive thinking and a world peace.