Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Charles Darwin concluded that adaptation is the key to evolution. While some perceive students taking a semester abroad lead to the waste of resources, some believe that the process will enable students to adapt and evolve. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that requiring students from universities and colleges to spend one semester in foreign countries will shape an indispensable growth for the students’ future.

For some people, studying overseas requirements would trigger a big question mark: why wasting time and money for the sake of the experience of living abroad? Moreover, several developed countries consider the process pointless as they mostly have more advanced educational systems than developing ones. Truth to be told, the key is in their adapting and decision-making process while they are away, instead of the exact textbook-knowledge from the foreign educational institution.

In Indonesia, several universities had required their students to take a semester abroad – mostly through their double degree programs. Aside from obtaining better education, dealing with unfamiliar cultures shaped new paradigm as a minority. As a country with biggest number of Moslem populations, most Indonesian Moslem take their privilege for granted and a lot of the experienced a major culture shock when perceived as minority. Adaptation to tackle this issue has been contributing a lot in their problem-solving process, which are essential for their future.

Unlike students from developing countries which experience educational upgrade, students from developed countries may perceive the semester abroad differently. Developing countries – with more complex issues, offers in depth challenge in living with limitations. Students are urged to jump from their comfort zone and live with problems they might never encountered before in their hometown. The experience also fostered individuals’ tolerance for foreign culture and behavior.

In conclusion, it is clear that requiring students to study abroad will serve a huge role in their growth. Aside from adaptation and decision making process, student with this experience will have creative problem solving skills and high tolerance level – the attitude needed to prepare them for the working environment.