Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup

The author introduces an interesting idea concerning requiring students to spend at least one semester studying abroad. Admittedly, studying in a foreign country may offer several benefits, depending on context. However, the statement is bold and absurd due to overlooking many important considerations and obstacles.

Perhaps the biggest obstacle to foreign travel is financial in nature. Some students simply would not be able to afford studying abroad. Traveling requires documentation, fees, and other expenses. Many students work while attending school in order to supplement income. Traveling would require one to quit their job, at least on temporary terms. Additionally, the cost of living in foreign countries may be dramatically different, and individuals may not be able to successfully adjust.

Moreover, students are not all created equal. Many students return to school at a later in life. Some already having or being a part of a family. Uprooting individuals to travel for a semester or more can be devastating to interdependent units. It would be unrealistic and expensive to move significant others and/or children to foreign locations solely for short lived study requirements.

There are indeed some situations where studying abroad would offer benefits. If perhaps your area of interest had resources more readily available in certain parts of the world, travel would be appropriate. For instance, if one is interested in studying medicine, traveling to a country where medical technology is superior would clearly offer advantages. It is doubtful that all areas of impoverished East Africa offer the same advantages urban, modern medical centers in the United States would. Similarly, if one’s study concerns Aztec archaeology, spending time near the physical ancient ruins located in the Yucatan would be extremely warranted.

In conclusion, traveling to a foreign country may offer benefits depending on area of interest and location . However, pragmatism and cost are considerable obstacles that would make such a requirement unrealistic.