Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts. Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Political decision making is an increasingly hot topic, especially in today's age. Furthermore, political opinions are often strikingly polarized and convoluted. When compared to the general public, it is true that politicians may be more educated and informed on the majority of concerns. However, depending on the context, politicians may demonstrate superior judgment only some of the time. For the best outcome, the general public should share the responsibility and be adequately represented in the process of policy institution.

Claiming politicians have better judgment and perspective assumes a universal intent. There are many reasons that guide a political decision, and there is no guarantee that these decisions will align with the public's desires or needs. Politicians are often subject to greed or corruption. Even though one may be more informed on a decision does not indicate that the best choice of action will be selected. If a sponsoring corporation is pushing for higher tax breaks, officials will be inclined to succumb. Even though promoting corporate greed and noncompliance may have a devastating and negative effect on the public, politicians may indeed seek their own self preservation and act only in self-interest. It would benefit the public to be involved in these decisions in order to hold politicians accountable for their actions.

Building on this concept is the idea that many political leaders can be considered to be out of touch with the rest of society. Their perspective is limited to their own experience. These so-called experts make decisions for others without fully considering how it may affect everyone. For instance, government officials may decide to go to war centered around the acquisition of desirable resources. It is rare that these same decision making experts will be part of the armed military populace physically involved in the conflict. Politicians will not be willing to risk their own lives and act only in the interest of the political party and fiscal gain. There is little regard for the safety of the general public. It would be ideal to directly involve those who would be affected by any decision. Having a fair and equal representation would help bolster perspective and therefore limit an outcome of inequality and dissatisfaction.

In conclusion, there are indeed some decisions that the government and political experts are well suited for. However, despite being better informed, there are a variety of influences that determine a course of action that can lead to undesirable outcomes. Political judgment is highly variable depending on context and perspective. Therefore, major policy decisions should be a responsibility that is equally shared with the general public.