"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

Corporation responsibility is an interesting and complex topic. Traditionally, a corporation's main objective revolves around fiscal gain. However, the environment and well-being of society is a shared responsibility. Actions of a corporations have the potential to affect many, both positively and negatively.Therefore corporations should indeed participate to some extent in the protection and promotion of the society and environment in which they function. Moreover, this concept should be seriously considered when determining the rules and regulations under with a corporation legally operates.

Protecting the environment is a shared responsibility. All members of a society affect their surroundings to some extent and corporations are no exception. It should be in a corporation's best interest to minimize their effect on the environment. Large companies in the oil industry, such as BP, have historically had a dramatic and negative effect on their surroundings. Oil spills into the ocean critically damaged natural aquatic habitats and continue to have a lasting

effect. It can be argued that without regulation, corporations will continue to objectively take advantage of their surroundings in order to promote the highest financial gain. In other words, considering the potential impact, corporations should legally be held accountable for their actions.

Building on this concept, corporations clearly have the means to have an enormous impact on society, both good and bad. When applied properly, corporate resources can yield dramatic improvements on any issue. The Bill Gates estate is now known for research into malaria. The implications and results of their research are immense and have changed the lives of many at risk individuals. Along with functioning inside the restrictions in place by the government, there should be a means of government regulated incentive for those who similarly chose to promote the well-being of society.

Admittedly, soley functioning inside the laws and restrictions may have little dramatic effect on society and environment. Corporations are left alone to focus on what is most important to them - money. Nevertheless, it can be argued that having no negative impact is a positive thing in itself. Having no carbon footprint is desirable. Additionally, it should not be overlooked that a successful and financially sound corporation offers jobs and economic advantages to the society in which they function. In summation, if the proper laws are in place, compliant corporations by default will promote growth and protection of society and the environment.

Conclusively, actions of corporations have the potential to impact the society and environment in which they function both positively and negatively. Laws and regulations should be constructed to ensure these negative effects are minimized, and positive effects are promoted and incentivised. Functioning within these rules will allow both corporations to make as much money as possible while offering significant advantages to those around them.