A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Having the same curriculum nationwide may indeed have certain benefits. However, such an extreme recommendation is built on several critical assumptions that cannot be overlooked.

Requiring all students to study the same national curriculum until undergraduate education irrationally assumes that all students throughout the country have similar goals. Many students choose not to go to college for a variety of reasons. For example, some students have a passion for a vocational field. Perhaps others may have post-highschool jobs lined up for them in the family business. While others may have a desire to join the military upon graduation. If a student has decided early to pursue auto-mechanical studies and work cars, a number of required courses in history and latin would merely be a waste of time and effort. This time could be better used for hands-on training or classes geared specifically towards career oriented interests. Instead of Latin, the mechanically inclined student could choose to spend a portion of their day in an elective 'shop' course. These students who have already chosen not to enter into a traditional college, a universal curriculum offers little to no benefit.

Offering a variety of courses to select from would not only give students the flexibility to choose from their pool of interests, but would also give undecided students the opportunity to explore. How would a student with no previous exposure to vocational studies know if they enjoy it or not? Highschool is a critical time where many students discover their passions. A strict curriculum offers no room for creativity and would only benefit those with undergraduate education in mind.

This idea builds on the one positive aspect of adopting a universal curriculum. For those students who do indeed choose to go to college, having a constructed curriculum that spans the nation may perhaps make college entry more streamlined. Comparing one student to the next is simply a matter of comparing the successful completion of coursework. Everyone enters with the exact same basic level of education to build on. However, it can still be similarly argued that many enter college for a variety of reasons.

In conclusion, education should be interest specific. Suggesting a national curriculum pre-college offers little to no benefit for both those who have already selected a career path, and for those who have not. Moreover, those who do decide to go to college have equally different paths to choose from. Offering a strict universal curriculum will only waste time and limit exposure.