In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

The author argues that in today's age with intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible to regard any living individual as a hero. Although the mass media may offer challenges to achieving a hero-like status, the claim is extreme and holds only partial merit. Because of the media, more obstacles to fame exist, but modern individuals can indeed be regarded as heroes.

The author's idea suggests that today there can be no living hero. The statement is absurd and can be immediately thwarted by the acknowledgment of heroes that currently exist. Perhaps the more difficult concept concerns what makes a hero. The definition of hero is clearly subjective. However, for the purpose of this argument, it will refer to an individual who is widely respected for their contribution to society. President Obama is alive today and is still widely regarded and respected for his contributions to equal rights, specifically to the African American and LGBT populations. Admittedly, the media and those opposed to his actions attempt to deface his legitimacy, he is considered a modern hero by the majority nonetheless.

In concession, mass media coverage does offer disadvantages to becoming a hero. Scrutiny is intensified at every angle. Individual personal lives are constantly assessed and criticized. In other words, modern media coverage allows more opportunity for disapproval. Michael Phelps, world record Olympic swimmer, was once thought to be an ideal American hero. He was a household name and widely respected internationally for his abilities. However, because of the media and exposure of his personal life, he was caught participating in the use of recreational drugs. The coverage damaged his reputation. Even though his actions we unrelated to his accomplishments, he was stripped of his title and fame. Fortunately, heroes that are not alive today are not subject to the same criticism and are at an advantage.

On the other end of the spectrum, media coverage may make it easier to become a hero through the coverage of content that would otherwise be left unknown to society. Recently, firefighters combating the wildfires in Australia have been the topic of discussion in international news. Individuals on the other side of the world are able to connect to their accomplishments and sacrifices.

Conclusively, intense media coverage can offer disadvantages to today's heroes. However, it is still possible for modern heroes to exist. Moreover, with increased exposure opportunity related to the media, it is easier for some individuals to achieve the status of hero.