Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning f

Clearly a government's funding is limited and should be rationed according to importance. When comparing the arts and a basic necessity such as food, the choice is obvious. A government should indeed put basic fundamental and physiological needs of the people first. However, the author's statement is extreme and overlooks the other various components of society that are funded by the government. These areas should similarly be similarly addressed. In times of need, funding should indeed be reallocated, but not exclusively from the arts.

However important art may be to any particular individual, its value is subjective. Moreover, art is not absolutely necessary to survive. It is reasonable to make the conclusion that funding should be taken away from art and redirected when there is a critical need, but there are many other funded areas we should explore. One applicable area of questionable government funding resides in the military branch of any government. This is especially holds true outside of wartime. Once can logically argue that without food, individuals will not survive. And without a surviving or thriving populace, there will not be anything left for the military to protect. When looking at a country like North Korea, it is easy to see the results of a government that prioritizes military strength over individual well-being. The presence of poverty and starvation is widespread, all at the cost of advanced weaponization. In this case, reallocation of spending is clearly and ethically warranted.

Perhaps a more controversial example is the presidential use of government funding. When assessing recent years, president Donald Trump has been criticized for his prodigal use of national finances. From taking expensive private jet tours, to extravagant weekend golf getaways. The total summation of these unnecessary spending are substantial when compared to other nonessential funding. If the government's prioritization truly lies with the health of people, the spread of wealth would be more equal.

Conclusively, when the well-being of the population suffers, it is the government's responsibility to reassess spending needs. It is clearly reasonable to demand less spending in nonessential areas in efforts to combat hunger and poverty. Some areas, such as art, are among these less essential categories. However, there are a significant number of other areas that should be critically analyzed when determining suspension and reallocation of funding.