In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

It is easy to comprehend the connection between enjoying art and understanding the work in detail. However, the statement above is extreme and cannot be supported in its entirety. While understanding a work of art may indeed add to its value, there are many other reasons why art may have merit that should not be overlooked.

There are many reasons individuals may appreciate a work of art. Many of which depend solely on personal interpretation. Art can be defined by anything that moves you. Whether that be from film, modern sculptures, music, and so on. What makes a piece special may often differ from person to person depending on associated personal history or learned emotional responses. Indeed, subjective context is everything. Take a popular music for example. One

does not need to understand the complex details of music theory to award merit. Knowing the chord progression, the rhythm, or notation for the Beatles' "Hey Jude" does not make the song any less significant. Perhaps the song was a favorite selection of a loved one, and

hearing the familiar melodies invokes feelings of nostalgia and joy.

Building on this idea is the concept of actual merit in the art world. How does one begin to define merit in art? Is it based on personal value or objective popularity counts? It has been argued that beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder, and art need only hold value to one person to have merit. The key assumption in the issue revolves around the idea that merit is tied to popularity. Regardless, art does not need to be universally understood to be popular either. And in fact, many esteemed works of art are misunderstood by the masses. Take modern art for example. The artist's original intention is often times very different from the viewers interpretation. Many may find the work to be awe inspiring or shocking, leading to increased popularity. There may be very few individuals amongst those who appreciate the piece that actually know and understand the true history and intended meaning.

In conclusion, there are many ways in which we appreciate and hold value in art. There are personal values and popular opinions and each can vary greatly. While truly understanding a piece of art may indeed add to its innate value, we should not ignore other reasons we might find art important.