Claim Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today Reason We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both

The issue states that knowing the past cannot help make current decisions and historical connections can only be made in hindsight. This may only be true in very select circumstances. Generally, I support the notion that history repeats itself. Analyzing the past is an incredible useful tool when making decisions in the present.

Much of history is believed to be cyclical, both on a small and large scale. On the small scale, we can examine individuals personal lives. One might find themselves, for instance, dating the same type of partner over and over. Choosing to be with significant others with similar personality types despite previous negative outcomes. This is a good example of how knowing about the past can help make important decisions today. If a relationship failed based on personality differences, there is a strong chance that, under similar circumstances, dating a similar partner will likewise end in failure. Connecting the past to the current may lead individuals to stay away from certain characteristics when dating.

Building on this concept, we can examine issues on an even smaller scale. Say someone purchases some sushi from a local grocery store. The sushi had gone bad, and the result is food poisoning. It is unlikely this individual will order sushi from the same store. The negative event has helped shape future decision making. Connecting the events of the past is important for self preservation. Regardless of the time frame between events, one is able to quickly make the connection between buying sushi from the same grocery store and choosing if and where to buy sushi in the future.

The issue becomes more difficult on a larger scale. Often we are able to see connections, but are unable to decipher the information. We may not know enough about the link to make an informed decision in the present. Take global climate change for instance. Global warming is a hot topic in today's conversations. There is increasingly more evidence that these climate changes we are experiencing today have happened hundreds of thousands of years ago. Patterns in geographic data support this claim. However, this may not offer any beneficial details on how we are to handle the current situation. Knowing that this change has transpired before is not enough to help make important decisions today. In this situation, perhaps we will only be able to make a more significant connection well in the future.

In conclusion, the past can almost always help make decisions today. One can easily make connections from previous situations to current events. However, in some specific situations, because a lack of information, we may not always be able to make current meaningful connections.