Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

The concept of what promotes a thriving society is interesting and complex. The author argues that in order to thrive, a society must put overall success above the individual. While others assert that true success can only be measured by the well-being of all its people. Both perspectives are extreme and exclusive. It can be argued that overall success and general well-being directly correlate. In other words, the ideas are not mutually exclusive. Thriving societies will produce thriving individuals, therefore equal importance is attributed to both individual and overall success.

Admittedly, assessing the general welfare of an individual will give a rough estimation of one's quality of life. Generally speaking, the average well-being of the individual will be a direct reflection of the success of the society in which they function. Take the average US citizen for example. Most citizens will have at least a high-school education ,some form of access to healthcare, general safety, food, and available transportation. These characteristics demonstrate the extent of American resources that extend into the lives of its people. The availability of such factors allow individuals to live to their fullest potential. America, along with other first world nations, produces some of the most brilliant and talented minds. Well-equipped societies will generally promote the opportunity to succeed with minimized obstacles. Without the support of the overall society, the individual would not thrive.

Moreover, one would be hard pressed to find a thriving society with poor individual welfare, or vice versa. The ideas are codependent. When general welfare is low, overall success will also be low. When assessing countries such as Kenya, education, healthcare, food, and other important characteristics are minimal. Fewer opportunities are available to the individual.

Conclusively, overall success and individual well-being are inter-related concepts. Overall success is determined by general welfare of the people. In turn, the individual success will largely be limited by the factors of the society in which they live.