People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The idea of what makes a decision good versus bad is a complex and interesting concept. Arguably, the decision making process and outcomes can be completely subjective in nature. Nevertheless, the author suggests that people who make emotional decisions and later back up those decisions with logic are ultimately poor decision makers. This statement is extreme and cannot be supported. The best decision makers regularly utilize both emotional and logical reasoning.

The argument underscores the contrast of emotional decision making with logical decision making. Is one truly superior to the other? Context and frequency is surely relevant. However, general decision making is most effective when both logic and emotion is both taken into consideration. For instance, when individuals choose a career, the most successful decisions are based of what the individual enjoys and what is economically and fiscally responsible. Finding the right balance between the two is critical.

Building on this concept, decisions based more or solely on emotion or logic are not necessarily poor decisions, as the author intimates. The idea of an arranged marriage is often foreign to American citizens. The concept essentially strips emotion from the life-long courtship. Individuals come together strictly for financial or social advantages. In many situations, couples establish a happy, lasting relationship. In contrast, there are many who marry based purely on emotion yielding the same result.

In concession, sometimes making decisions and later rationalizing can result in poorly. Deviations from the norm will always exist and examples will almost always depend on context. Take for example criminals who are convicted of aggravated assault. Objectively poor and violent decisions are made in the heat of the moment based of emotions like anger, lust, and greed. One may attempt to justify or rationalize their decision with logic by saying their actions were the result of self-defense. Or perhaps by claiming the perpetrator is mentally ill. There is an attempt to use both emotion backed by logic in these instances. Nevertheless, the outcome is still negative.

Conclusively, the idea of what makes a bad decision is difficult to define. One would be hard-pressed to claim that emotional decision making compared logical decision making is superior, or vice versa. It can be argued that habitually using both tactics together would yield the most beneficial, well rounded of outcomes.