The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no

While there may indeed be a significant link between student success and homework, more information is clearly needed to make such a bold claim. The statement above is rife with pivotal assumptions and in order to make a stronger argument, several questions relating to the collected data will need to be addressed.

The argument wrongly assumes that two school student populations are identical, and therefore, able to be accurately compared. It would substantially weaken the argument to find that Marlee district includes the highest earning citizens of the surrounding area. Are there perhaps other supplementary materials or learnings available to these students that can account for their superior grades? For example, parents of the Marlee district may be able to provide high quality private tutoring services for their children. Along similar circumstances, the opposite may be an important factor to take into consideration. We would benefit to know more about Sanlee district as well. Sanlee may consist of a historically indigent population with fewer outside-of-school learning opportunities available. Despite poor student performance, guardians may not be able to afford tutoring. Moreover, perhaps these tutoring and similar services are not readily available in the area.

Providing more information concerning the actual details of the assigned homework can either hinder or bolster the argument. We understand the frequency difference in the homework assignments, but there is nothing provided that addresses the content of the homework. Take into consideration the idea that although Marlee district sends home a fewer number of assignments, they may be more difficult in nature, requiring increased time and effort on the student's part. Additionally, the survey only questions science and math teachers. A typical student may take four even five additional high school classes simultaneously. Understanding the total work load taken home every day can give a more clear picture of how much time is spent concentrating on homework in its entirety. Marlee district may send home less science and math homework, but maybe there is a greater number of literature and history assignments sent home on a daily basis. Addressing these assignments and their link to success in the related courses would surely help sway the arguments position.

Conclusively, there may very well be a link between homework and academic performance. It is easy to see how less time focusing on daily mundane assignments can offer more time to

concentrate on important individual assignments further leading to success. However, to support this idea more objective information is needed on a larger scale. For starters, a broader survey of teachers representing all student demographic backgrounds, and more inclusive data collections relating to the actual amount of work taken home would be tremendously beneficial.