Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agr

Modern innovations offer improved and alternative methods of instructing for students. Yet, it can be argued that these progressions in technology are traditionally instruments geared towards entertainment and distract from learning. This blanket statement may hold merit in some select situations. Indeed the use of any technology in education is strongly associated with individual study habits and ability to focus. Nevertheless, when utilized properly, these advances offer unmatched and efficient learning potentials that should not be overlooked.

The biggest benefit that technology offers students is related to efficiency. In today's world, the ease of access to information is incredible when compared to just half a century ago. Computers and the internet save exponential amounts of effort leaving more time to focus elsewhere. Where it would take hours or even days to research and write a paper on advanced calculus in the mid 20th century. Today the internet allows us to make progress in mere minutes. Students routinely have the ability to take advantage of these opportunities. Today, students have the ability to connect with instructors at a distance, read text-books online, and procure simplified explanations to difficult materials. Moreover, as technology continues to advance, this proficiency is even becoming essentially required today. There is no doubt that, in the right hands, innovations offer tangible learning opportunities. These methodologies have become fundamental in today’s education system and without them students will be at a disadvantage and will likely fall behind.

Yet perhaps the statement should more clearly imply that despite these modern methods, students are choosing not to utilize them properly. This suggests that the issue should be more centered around self control and improper time and resource management. Educational information is clearly readily accessible, but likewise, so is entertainment. Movies can now be streamed at the click of a button. Hours of video blogs can be viewed with little to no effort on the viewers part. It can be assumed that students would rather engage in enjoyable activities than those didactic in nature. This may be true, but vary greatly depending on the individual’s behavior and level of discipline. Any innovation or methodology has the potential for misuse, but we cannot ignore the clear advantages when used properly.

Conclusively, modern innovations do indeed offer distracting elements. However, under the right circumstances, technology allows for efficient and advanced learning opportunities unlike anything this world has seen before. We should therefore stress the importance of proper use rather than focus on distraction potential.