Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays schools have many resources available to instruct their students thanks to the advancement of technology. Interactive videos, exercises online and complementary material are available for everyone with an internet connection. All these resources represent an improvement in terms of tools available for students, however some people think that these technologies distract from real learning.

Computers and the spread of internet connection allow schools to offer courses, exercises to practice the material students are learning and giving feedback in a more efficient way. In some rural school it is hard for students assist to school every day for different reasons. For example, students live far away and it takes several hours to commute, and in other cases when the weather is not good, roads are not able to be used. In these situations, new innovations allow students to keep learning in their homes. Without these new technologies students would have lost a day of learning.

New technologies are a good complement for learning as we mentioned before for rural schools. However, there are different students from different ages and backgrounds and the old school learning system with a real teacher in front of the classroom cannot be replaced. When six year old students are learning the alphabet and how to count in primary school, the positive influence of a teacher and the interaction with their peers have a vital importance. Online material can be used to complement what students learn in their classroom.

Additionally, it is important to offer students guidance of how to use computers and internet in an efficient way. In the past, our parents used to look at dictionaries or encyclopedias and go to the library to do their homework. Nowadays students can find all the material on internet, just browsing from their homes. However, on internet you can find useful material, but also a lot of distraction such as games, unrelated videos in Youtube and music. It is important that teachers give students guidance of which websites visit, and parents control how they children use internet. For adult learners just be aware of the time they spend on internet and try to allocate time to learn and avoid browse unrelated material during studying time.

In conclusion, computers and internet offer a great learning opportunity for everyone. However, we also have to be aware of the risks such as spending time browsing unrelated material and the loss of real interaction with our colleagues and classmates. As a consequence, computers and new technologies have to be used with care, and in many cases, as we mentioned in primary school, it is a complementary tool but cannot replace the school environment.